When Fasting Becomes A Hunger Game

twinkie

Why have we fasted and You do not see?
Why have we humbled ourselves and You do not notice?

If I fast because I want to earn my way into God’s good graces
and nothing in me changes,
the fast is all for naught.

If I fast what isn’t good for me anyway
and give up what I never needed in the first place,
I’m hungrier than I thought.

If I fast to shrink my belly and lessen my widen’d hips
while crumbs of grumbling remain on my lips,
the desert is my lot.

If I give up my morning coffee and sacrifice its silky cream,
Will this bend the ear of God to all my hopes and dreams?

What if…

IMG_6505

IMG_6642

I lay aside what really nourishes me,
bread and meat and honey sweet,
and all my guts go hollow.

Will the emptiness I feel
point to what is real
about me?

Will these hunger pains
Be my helper and my aid
toward knowing more of God’s grace?

Perhaps then I will realize that fasting is not a game.

“Perhaps the greatest hindrance to our work is our own imagined strength; and in fasting we learn what poor, weak creatures we are-dependent on a meal of meat for the little strength which we are so apt to lean upon.”– Hudson Taylor

Leave a Reply

