Pure

“Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see God.”

What does this even mean?
How is this even possible?

20170306_123152

Who shall ascend the hill of the Lord?
And who shall stand in his holy place?
He who has clean hands and a pure heart,
who does not lift up his soul to what is false,
and does not swear deceitfully.

But, I have already done both of those things.
Lived falsely.
Sworn deceitfully.

You see, someone’s poisoned the water hole!

Classic warfare tactic of the enemy…compromise the water supply.
The water supply of my heart, the wellspring of my soul.

By faith I know I’ve been granted mercy, and mercy bestowed bows the head.

But what is this you are saying now,Jesus?
That I may lift my head?
That there is the grace-filled, hope-burning, tears streaming,
possibility of seeing You face-to-face?

Seeing Your Glory?
Seeing Your Presence?
Seeing Your Hand in this big, old groaning, sighing, planet?

The only way this is going to happen…me seeing God,
is for You, Jesus, in all of Your glorious purity,
to stand between me and the Ancient of Days.

IMG_6387

It is safe to tell the pure in heart that they shall see God, for only the pure in heart want to. -C.S. Lewis

One thought on “Pure

Leave a Reply

