Meek Is Not Weak

“Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.”

20170303_154803

How do I turn the other cheek when all the world shouts red-faced angry?
How do I keep my fist in my pocket when a texting driver runs a red light?
How do I silence curses from spilling blood red venom when someone I love is betrayed?

Trust in God.

How do I put away arrogance, anger and anxiety?
How do I shed self-righteousness, self-pity, and self-promotion?
How do I face injustice, immorality, and greed?

Trust in God.

Meek is not weak.
It is a strength that yields to trust.
Trust that God’s got this. Trust that God’s got me.
Trust that God’s got the whole blue planet.

All my reactions.
All my thoughts.
All my words.
Must yield to trust.

Meekness is the power to absorb adversity and criticism without lashing back. – John Piper

No automatic alt text available.

Do not fret because of those who are evil
or be envious of those who do wrong;
for like the grass they will soon wither,
like green plants they will soon die away.
Trust in the Lord and do good;
dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
Take delight in the Lord,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.

 

 

Leave a Reply

