Broken

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.”

20170302_171420

This is what I must know…

that my repentance and grief over the sin
in my own heart is what leads my broken self
to the comfort of God.

On this second day of Lent I am saying,
“God, let what grieves Your heart, grieve mine.”
On this second day of Lent I am thanking,
“God, that the broken and contrite heart you do not despise.”

 “When the church isn’t for the suffering and broken, then the church isn’t for Christ. Because Jesus, with His pierced side, is always on the side of the broken.”- Ann Voskamp in The Broken Way

Leave a Reply

