Leaning Into 2013

IMG_7051

January 1st is Calendar Day.

I take the old calendar, stuffed with papers and correspondence and notes and receipts and scribbles and underlinings and I read it all back again. IMG_7063

Every page.

I remember all the celebrations and the Big Wedding Day and the arrival of the Sweet Grandbaby Girl.

These are carved into me and I will not forget, cannot forget such blessings.

I turn every page to go back to the things I have forgotten.

Each page a key to the regular thingsIMG_7050

I see the grocery lists and I remember I ate every single day last year.

I see the names of all the teachers I had the privilege of subbing for and I remember I have met the sweetest, funniest, bravest little people in the world. God really meant it when He said children are His gift.

I see the doctor’s appointments and I remember I live right down the street from my doctor’s office. And there is medicine in little bottles in a box store fifteen minutes from my house.

I see lunch dates and early morning breakfast dates and I remember I have friends who are willing to let the coffee go cold listening to my stories again and again.

I see the reminders to finish up the chores inside and out and I remember I am able to run up and down stairs, lift a heavy load and watch seedlings grow into something beautiful.

I love the filled pages of the old calendar because it reminds me that I really lived my life.

I love the blank pages of the new calendar because it reminds me that, Lord willing, there is more of this life to live. IMG_7052

I get to live the regular stuff, which, along with the celebrations, is the sacred stuff, too.

I never make resolutions. I am just not resolute enough to keep them.

Instead I bend. I lean into things that I sense the Lord wants me to lean into.

Some of the things I am leaning toward:

1.Eating more. IMG_7046

I know, most people want to eat less.

Not me. I want to eat more with others. Sharing food and life around the table needs to happen more this year.

2.Reading hard books.IMG_7060

I leaned into Dickens this past year and forced myself to pay attention to the language and when I did I found  mercy and hope for the human heart weaved throughout his dark tales.

This year I will attempt Victor Hugo’s  Les Miserables. The films have inspired me to go back to the original words.

3.Walking.IMG_7062

I let a fall on the ice last winter determine the course of the last twelve months and I have forgotten how I need to walk and pray at the same time.

There are only three leanings, three places I am bending toward at the moment.

I am sure there will be more as the days come into being.

I am sure I will be writing them all down soon enough.

What are you leaning toward this year?

Where is Jesus bending you?

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Leaning Into 2013

  1. Just finished reading The Hobbit with my oldest and watched the first part of the movie. Our goal for the spring is to read the Lord of the Rings trilogy and read Uncle Tom’s Cabin (Hmmm . . . I hope that I can stick with it!) I want to love more, trust more, forgive more, and radiate with the Lord’s gentle sense of humor!. I want peace for all of my family and divine healing for both my parents and aunt. Regardless of the outcome, I know that He is the life planner, and I need to take one step, one day at a time.

    • Jen,Enjoy your reading adventures! We read parts of Uncle Tom’s Cabin as a homeschool assignment. We did Great Expectations last year and Pride and Prejudice the year before that, along with Little Women. (Girl books!) It was wonderful. We also did Huck Finn as a read-aloud. It made the book come alive with the language. I want all of the things you mentioned as well; let our cups runneth over with God’s goodness this year! > Date: Wed, 2 Jan 2013 02:53:08 +0000 > To: mitsou7@msn.com >

  2. Love your perspective Mitsie. I want to be able to embrace the things the Lord has for me this year. I feel and anticipation of good things and I also feel transition on the horizon. Whatever that may mean. Love reading the classics. My first reading this year is not a classic. It is a new book by Mitch Albom. “The Time Keeper” I’m not sure the subject matter, but I love his writings and I was invited to join a book club that is reading this book and the club idea has inspired me. I think mostly because last year I read ‘All Roads Lead to Austin’ written by a California Literacy Professor about her 9 month journey through Latin, Central and South America reading some of Jane Austin’s writings and discovering through book clubs in the respective cultures, how they related to her culture. It was very interesting. I pray that in your journey through 2013 you will see all the blessings that the Lord has for you.

  3. Love this, Mits. After the New Year, I always take some time to reflect on the previous year too…looking at journals, revisiting things I’ve learned in the Word of God, rereading words spoken to me or prayed over me – especially the ones that resonated deeply with my Spirit – and enjoying again the loving kindness of Jesus who so often encourages me through words of friends and family and even strangers. There’s the occasional heavy sigh as I think upon all the things I’ve walked through and how grateful I am to be alive and looking forward to the New Thing God has planned for me in the coming year. Even if I don’t know what that is yet, the New Year brings fresh expectation that God has a plan and it is good and I will walk victoriously. Of course there are those things I had best of intentions towards last year that didn’t get done; I revisit those too and if they’re important enough, somehow they find their way back into my intentions for the coming year. I love this time of year, if for nothing else but to focus and fix my attention on the hope we have in God and remember the Jeremiah 29:11 Promise…”For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord” I’ll be listening for His still small voice in the weeks to come to find out what I’m leaning into this year and I’ll be sure to share them with you. At first thought, the word SIMPLIFY comes to mind, and BEING IN THE MOMENTS OF LIFE. Seems like there’s LIFE to be had in the little things. Thanks for sharing! You are such a blessing! Happy New Year.

    • Karen,
      I am re-visiting the same scripture in Jeremiah this year, also! Or it is re-visiting me! It is such an encouragement to me to know that others are hearing the same things. If you want to read a wonderful take on reflecting about the unfulfilled intentions, read Ann Voskamp’s post in aholyexperience.com It’s the one dated January 1st. Very encouraging. Love you, my friend.

  4. Mitsie….my WORD for this year.is “KNOW”….just the start of my study of that word tells me how important it is to God. Strong’s Concordance lists every single “know “and refers many of them to “understanding”. I think it will be one of those hidden treasures to discover what it means to really know and understand the ways of God. Hopefully, I will also gain an understanding of myself as well. Who was it that said “Know thyself”?

  5. I love Ann Voskamp. I started reading One Thousand Gifts about a month ago and for the next Life Group cycle Carol and I are teaming and using the book as the resource. I didn’t know Ann Voskamp had a blog but I just read the one you mentioned. It is very encouraging. I love this part…“Moving forward is what makes music. And that list that you’re running around in your head? Of all that you got messed up and wrong in 2012? That’s the wrong list to be playing. The real list that you need on replay is that gratitude list — that list of all His gifts in 2012. Playing the list of God’s gifts is what makes music….Your 2013 doesn’t need to-do lists like it needs to-God-be-the-glory lists!“ I needed that. Love you Mitsie.

    • Karen,
      I read Ann’s book last Easter. It was perfect timing for me to use a Lenten devotional. I’m so glad you are teaming with Carol. You will have a wonderful season on this journey of gratitutde. I gained so much perspective and I’m probably due for a re-read. Love you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

