Adaptations Are For Life

Adaptation.

A form or structure modified to fit a changed environment.

A life able to adapt, to fit into change without letting the change cause fits is a life well lived and a life lived well.

To adapt is not to say one is compromising, although finding middle ground is sometimes the best place to be when integrity is not on the line.

To say I welcome structure and routine does not mean that I do not welcome change…it just means I take great comfort in knowing that some things never change. In the midst of continual adaptations, there is One Constant: Jesus of Nazareth.

The one called The Bread of Life said: “I am the same yesterday, today and tomorrow.”

Life sustaining, belly comforting,  heart filling, bread.

And if the cupboard is bare of loaves, we are in despair.

One of us, me, the husband or the the children, cry out:

“There is no bread in the house!”

There is no adapting well without bread. Without Jesus.

Adaptations abound in my half century life.

New houses new schools new churches

Tractor trailer trucks slamming.

Hay barns for playing and warehouse barns for living.

Appendix pulled bursting.

Father gone missing; missing gone father.

New houses new schools new churches.

The Bread of Life comes and derailment is averted.

A wedding and babies.

Then, a diagnosis that reaches up to swallow a parent through the floor followed by the adaptation of living with a miracle.

Heads and hearts spin for awhile until feet gain a footing once more.

The Father of Lights, the One with no variation or shifting shadow comes shining.

The One with no turning or changing leads now.

Adaptation does not mean I am going with the flow.

Sometimes adaptation comes with a fight followed by a holy limp.

Adaptation is a yielding and yielding always comes with a price.

You have to let go.

You have to let it go.

Sometimes you just have to eat differently.

For me to fit into the life that has been destined for me, a life that teaches me, feeds me forgiveness, righteouseness, humility, grace and mercy and love love love, I must be modified. I must change.

Sometimes it requires a chisel, sometimes it necessitates a burnishing cloth.

On occasion it requires the quiet waiting of Jesus while I lament, ” There is no fairness in the house!”

The still small voice of Jesus penetrates through my fits to tell me He will never leave me, He will never forsake me.

The One called the Bread of Life meets with me again.

He loves me with an everlasting love  and His is the Author and Finisher, the Perfecter of my life.

He is with me in every adaptation I must make.

He is with me in the yielding.

One thought on “Adaptations Are For Life

Leave a Reply

