Blue

Tekeleth.

A Hebrew word meaning blue.

All the violets and purples and indigos and sapphires…all of them are tekeleth.

All are the blue.

Lupine blue.

Pansy blue.

Priestly garment blue.

Holy of Holies Blue.

The color God chooses to brush up against holy things.

“And you shall make the robe of the ephod all of blue.”

Priest clothes designed by the Ancient of Days.

“…they shall put on the tassel of each corner a cord of blue.”

The color of the between place.

“And he, (Solomon), made the veil of violet, purple and crimson and fine linen…”

A veil of blue torn by mercy.

I noticed recently I have lots of blue in my garden. I did not plan to have so much of one color. I am a haphazard gardener. Mostly what grows in my little dirt space are found seedlings, gifts from friends…or rescued from the throwaway bin at the garden center.

Perhaps I need reminding about holiness. I see it in the scriptures…all this blue.

In holy garments and temples and a veil in front of the Presence.

Perhaps I need to recognize that God cloaks the divine with ordinary and the ordinary with the divine.

A Son comes as a baby and is placed in a feedbox.

A flesh and blood man puts on a fabric of blue and stands in the gap for sin.

All this blue in my house these days. Am I paying attention?

“For since the creation of the world His invisible attibutes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they (me) are without excuse.”

 

 

I went berry picking this morning. My daughter and I walked toward the back of the farm and headed down row seven draped with high bush blueberries.

Dusty blue orbs hung off brambled limbs.

There were thousands of them.

The color of holiness hung clustered and fat and I could not stop picking.

My daughter had to tell me twice we had enough.

Enough?

Enough blueberries? Perhaps.

Enough Divine Presence? Never.

I was greedy this morning for blue.

I wanted them all and my container, although fairly big, was not big enough for what I desired. I had to tear myself away, my only consolation being I will go back tomorrow.

To hunger for the holy in such a way is my prayer. To be a person who wants Him so much that my heart container is too small for all that I desire. To be someone who can only be torn from His presence.

Reminded by tekeleth.

Wrecked by love cloaked in blue.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Blue

  1. This would explain why four of my rooms are different shades of blue. Isn’t blue symbolic of royalty? This would make sense since the lord is the king of kings!

Leave a Reply

