The One True Thing

Come.

Sit.

Be present in My Presence.

Why do I avoid God?

Is this even the right question?

Perhaps the question should be: why do I put Him off?

Asked this way the question jerks my head around and I am forced to explain why I look at Jesus sometimes with a raised finger and  these words on my lips,  “Just a moment, I will be right with you…”

I have some burying to do. I have a field to plant.

I have my daughter’s graduation to plan for, a baby shower to throw and my son’s wedding to attend to.

I am like the teller at the bank who knows someone is standing in front of her and manages to say the “I’ll be right with you” words, but never  engages the person or makes eye contact until every last receipt is filed, every last document stamped and every last computer key clicked. Only then is she ready for face time.

Face time with the Almighty is always available through Jesus, but why do I  always find there is one more thing to be done.

One more dish to wash. One more check of the email. One more glimpse of facebook.

Putting off a King. How ludicrous.

Am I so naive  to think I can casually re-buff the One who holds my breath in the palm of His hand?

My flesh is a scandal to my purported beliefs. I am a contradiction.

I stand in the company of scandals. Our mouths so easily profess belief and yet we find our legs going in the opposite direction.

Peter rebuffs and denies. Jacob schemes and wrestles. David lies with a woman and lies with words and deeds.

All at one time putting off the Almighty’s Invitation to come closer.

All these and more were scandalous before the Inviting One and yet….

Jesus. Jesus. Jesus.

Who is the explanation of God it says in John’s gospel. The beloved’s words. Words written down by someone who knows.

The Explanation of God comes and removes the cloak of scandal from us and puts it on Himself.

It is He that gets to say, “Let Me do this One Thing. Then it will be Finished.”

He pushes through the lattice of my heart.

He invites me to come behind the gate.

The voice of my beloved! Behold, he comes, leaping over mountains, bounding over hills. My beloved is like a gazelle or young stag. Behold he stands behind our wall, gazing through the windows, looking through the lattice. My beloved speaks to me: “Arise, my love, my beautiful one, and come away…” 

My prayer today for myself, and perhaps you too, is that I will cast aside all my “one things” to remember His One Thing – that His death on a cross finished sin for me.

I am My beloved’s and He is mine.

Leave a Reply

