Be and Do

I am a writer. It is not my profession. I do not make money doing it.

When I meet someone new and they ask what it is that I do, I have never said, ” I write”.

I know what they mean. They want to know what my title is, my career choice, what I am doing in the marketplace.

Am I a productive American?

For many of us what we do isn’t necessarily who we are, who we were meant to be.

But sometimes, it turns out, it is.

It has taken me a long time to understand.

Writing has been hard-wired into my life. I cannot not do it.

It began with a blue and white square book with a wide clasp and a lock. There was a painting of wildflowers on the front. A nine year old began to tell her story. 

One day there was running down a tar-scarred road to Howard’s farm. Cows needed getting in.  

One day there was no running,  only very slow walking, past Swenson’s Slaughterhouse, eyes locked with a German Shepherd.

A tongue hanging out shepherd, lying next to a blood-stained drainage trough….muscles twitching….waiting for an opportune time when the child’s back was turned.

One day there was an invitation.  A first birthday party.  The boy who lived at the post office said yes to the writing girl turning ten.

Life.

Stories.

Pressed on paper with an ink tool. It is who I am and what I do.

God, the I AM, the Great Do-er of All Things Good, Is what He Does.

He performs acts of love because He is Love.

He demonstrates mercy because He is Mercy.

Everything God does transcends from Who He Is.

When He plunged His hands into the creation dirt and formed a man and placed him in a garden and said “Take care of it”, He breathed into that man to Be and Do  what he was destined for:

A Cultivator of Soils, a Namer of Animals,  a Multiplier of the Very Good.

A Companion to the Almighty.

To be and do.  It is the original human condition.

Painters paint. Builders Build. Writers write.

What is it that you are compelled to do?

What has been hard-wired into your life by a loving, merciful God that you are just now realizing is okay to say out loud?  

Do it.  It’s the only way to be who you were truly created to be.

3 thoughts on “Be and Do

  1. This post could not have come at a better time. Trying to find out what I am meant to “do”, and not let the other distractions, all which seem good and have the Lord’s heart intertwined in them, is challenging for me.

  2. so happy to see you start…… I love you and celebrate the gift of writing God has given you. I am so glad that you will always be in my life,…being you.

Leave a Reply

